Skip to main content
Main content

Board of Directors


David O’Neill - Chairman

Director for 1 year 

Managing Director of ABCOE Distributors, Penrith. Panthers sponsor since 2008.

Current Director of Panthers on the Prowl.

Greg Alexander - Deputy Chairman
Director for 11 years

Involved with football in Penrith area for 40 years. Penrith’s “Rookie of the Year” in 1984. He won the prestigious Dally M Player of the Year in 1985 and played City Origin, State of Origin and for Australia. Captained Penrith’s first Premiership win in 1991.

Sports Commentator on 2UE and Fox Sports.

Denis Merrick
Director for 6 years

Director for Certified Practising Accountant (Retired). Principal in accounting firms in Penrith for over 40 years. Over 30 years’ experience in administration of sporting bodies. Life Member of Lower Mountains Junior Rugby League Club. Qualified Rugby League Coach and Referee. Accredited official with Swimming Australia.

Swimming Life member of a local club and district association. Panthers member since 1973. Chairman of the Finance and Audit sub-committee. Member of the Constitution and Sub-Judiciary sub-committees.

Ian Hicks

Managing Director – Hix Group Pty Ltd, a local business that employs approximately 70 people. A passionate supporter of Panthers for a number of years as a Corporate Sponsor. Director – Western Sydney Business Centre and Director – Penrith CBD Corp. A Panthers member for more than 32 years, looking forward to representing the members and helping Panthers to be the biggest and best club in Australia.

David Mayne

David Mayne has been appointed for his representation of the regional clubs. David also has business experience and prior Penrith Board experience.

Brian Fletcher – Panthers Group CEO

Brian Fletcher, formerly CEO of Hawkesbury Race Club, served as a Panthers Director and was appointed Chairman in July 2015. He took over the Panthers Group CEO role in March 2016.